Puzzone di Moena

Puzzone di Moena Cheese, Photo by Priscillakittycat

Puzzone di Moena Cheese, Photo by Priscillakittycat

Say cheeessse!  During orientation our school’s counselor, who is a practicing psychologist or psychiatrist (can’t remember which), originally from Texas, asked us to write down everything we hope to get out of this study abroad experience.  He said to write freely and let ideas emerge without judgement.  I like him.  We’re on the same page.  It must be the Texas connection.

I wrote down a bunch of ideas and continue to add to the list.  Like this morning when I grabbed another cheese from the fridge drawer.  I thought…”Hmmm, I will taste (and research) every single cheese that the Mercato Centrale sells.  This way, I can give mom and dad a cheese lesson when they come to visit at the end of March”.

Too bad I forgot to write down the names of some of the cheeses I bought a few days ago.  Luckily, this one still had a speck of the label on the rind.  So with that partial label and the help of Google, I found the name online.  Puzzone di Moena.  At the Mercato they cut the cheese in the amount you choose.  I asked for 200 grams of each one. When I opened the butcher shop white packaging, a very strong (and stinky) aroma emerged.  Puzzone means “stinky” in Italian.  And Moena is a city in the province of Trento.  I expected the taste would be equally strong.  Not at all.  It’s an almost soft cheese and perfect for my breakfast.  There are uneven little holes in it.  A cute little mouse would love this cheese.

2 thoughts on “Puzzone di Moena

  1. Hi P, Very interesting. I love cheese so I look forward to hearing about the different types you are tasting. How are classes going? Hugs

Leave a Reply

